Call for Papers

IBEFA Summer Meeting

Denver, CO, USA
June 26–30, 2020

(held concurrently with the Western
Economic Association International

Open Submission Deadline: January 17, 2020

The International Banking, Economics, and Finance Association (IBEFA) will hold its next Summer Meeting in Denver, Colorado, in conjunction with the 95th Annual Western Economic Association International Conference, Friday–Tuesday, June 26–30, 2020 at the Grand Hyatt Denver. Members and non-members are equally encouraged to submit papers.

IBEFA seeks paper submissions that contribute to its goals of furthering the study of banking and financial systems around the world. We encourage submission of high-quality papers using theoretical, empirical, as well as experimental methods.

Besides contributions to the general field of banking and finance, we especially welcome papers related to the development and implementation of macroprudential policies; the interaction of such policies with monetary, microprudential, and economic policies; as well as methodological and applied ex-ante and ex-post policy evaluation studies.

The suggestion of complete sessions on policy-relevant topics is also strongly encouraged. In that case, sessions should consist of 3-4 papers and include discussants.


You can submit a paper after registering at the conference planning website: (, which can also be reached via the heading “Call for Papers – WEAI” at the IBEFA website ( If you experience any submission difficulty, please contact Niki Maas ( We aim to inform authors of accepted papers by March 1, 2020.


There is no paper submission fee. However, at least one author from each accepted paper must be an IBEFA member as of April 1, 2020. Regular membership dues are US$100 and US$50 for students for one year. Authors of (provisionally) accepted papers, who are not members, will be given the opportunity to join before the program is finalized.

The presenting author of an accepted paper must also register to attend the WEAI Conference. Registration is available at the WEAI member rate after joining IBEFA; US$185 for members (increases to $230 after May 15, 2020); US$95 for student members (increases to $140 after May 15, 2020). Program participants must register by May 1, 2020 to remain on the conference program. For information see

Feedback and active participation are crucial. Therefore, presenting authors are required to discuss a paper.

Diana Bonfim
Program Chair, IBEFA
Bank of Portugal

For information on the WEAI summer meeting, see WEAI 95th Annual Conference.

Thank you for your participation.